All deductions, with the
exception of the
Non-Profit Deduction,
are filed in the FRANKLIN
County Auditor’s Office.

All deductions (unless stated
differently) must be filed on or
before December 31% of the
current year in order to receive
them for the following vear.

The County’s year runs from
Mareh 2™ of one year to March
1* of the next, In order to get
deductions on the following yeat,
you must own or live in your
property on or before
December 31*. This means that
your deed must be transferred
with the County Auditor and that
you are living there as of that
date.

If you are a Non-Profit
Organization, you must file a
new form every even numbered
yeat. (This means that you need
to file in 2006, 2008, 2010 and so
on.) If your organization
purchases new property within
that 2 year period, you must
come in and file on that property.
This deduction is filed with the
County Assessor’s Office.

Do
You
Qualify?

THE FOLLOWING
INFORMATION IS WHAT IS
REQUIRED TO QUALIFY FOR
DEDUCTIONS IN

FRANKLIN COUNTY AND
WHERFE AND WHEN YOU
SHOULD FILE,
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The information contained
within this flyer is current as of
December 1, 2008.

Any changes in Indiana law after

that date could cause this
information to be obsolete.
Please consult with the Auditor’s
Office periodically to check on
this matter.
Thank~you.

MORTGAGE DEDUCTION-There myst bea
current mortgage recorded in the Franklin County
Recorder’s Offics. There must be a debl of at least
$1,000. There can only be one mortgage deduction
filed per owner. 1f you would own a property with a
spouse and you file a deduction on that property you
would get $3,000 deduction on it. If you should
purchase a property with only one name on it and you
have a separate recorded mortgage on it, you may file
for a $1,500 deduction, but you can not have you and
your spouse’s name on both properties and got two
deductions. If you refinance your curreni
morigage you will need to file & new deduction.
Home equity loans qualify for a mor(gage deduction
as long ag the information has been recorded.

HOMESTEAD DEDUCTION-Must have
purchased the home either by deed or by contract and
be living in it to qualify. The deed or contract must
have been filed with the Auditor’s Office and
recarded in the Recorder’s Office. Your name must
be on the deed of record or contract to sign the form
You are allowed onty one Homesiead exemption for
the home you reside in.

NON-PROFIT DEDUCTION-If the organization
has a non-profit status with the Secretary of State and
owns personal property or real estate in - Franklin
County they can apply for a non-profif dednotion.
Forms must be filled out completely and returned to
the County Assessor’s Office on or before the May
15 deadline. (See back of this fiyer for more
information on non-profits)

GEOTHERMAL / SOLAR DEDUCTIONS-Must
have geothermal or solar heat and be asseased for it
Forms have to be filled ot by the deed holder and
returned to the Auditor’s Office, The Auditor’s
Office will file stamp the original, copy it and return
it to the deed holder who will then send the originals
to the State of Indiana for certification. II the forms
are not stamped by the County Auditor there will
not be a deduction on your preperty taxes.

BLIND / MSABLED DEDUCTIONS-Persons
applying for either the blind or disabled deductions
must have a doctor’s slip or a statetnent form the
Soclal Security Department to be eligible,

ATTAINED AGE DEDUCTION-Persons applying
for this exemption must...
" 1. Have been 65 by December 31* of the
previous year.

2. Have real estate in Huntington County
valued at no more than $182,430.

3. Net income mmst not exceed $25,000
per federal income tax forms filed in the
current year ot the statement of benefits
form from Social Secutity,

AGE CIRCUIT BREAKER- Persous applying for
this exemption must..,

1. Have been 63 by December 31* of the
previous year.

2, Have real estate in Huntington Counly
valued at no more than $160,000.

3. Net income must hot éxcesd $30,000
for single or $40,000 for jointly owned
property per federal income tax forms
filed in the current year ar the statement
of benefits form from Social Security.

DISABLED VETERAN’S DEDUCTION-Persons
wishing to apply for this deduction must have a form
from the Department of Vetoran’s Affairs.






