Franklin County Commissioners

Effective July 1, 2024

The Franklin County Auditor will be absorbing any responsibilities & duties previously handled by the Commissioners Secretaries.

Any business previously handled by the Commissioner’s Secretaries may now be conducted with the Franklin County Auditor’s Office. 

Franklin County Auditor’s Office


The Franklin County Commissioners meet on Wednesday mornings at 10 a.m. every other week, except if a Holiday falls on a Wednesday then they will meet on Thursday  at 10 a.m., unless otherwise specified (See the calendar at the bottom of the page for dates).


Tom Wilson, President

Gerald Wendel, Vice President

John Heis, Commissioner

Commissioners’ Highway Districts:

Gerald Wendel, District 1, Townships of Highland, Whitewater, Springfield, Bath & Fairfield

John Heis,  District 2 – Townships of Metamora, Brookville & Butler

Tom Wilson, District 3, Townships of Posey, Laurel, Blooming Grove, Salt Creek & Ray


Franklin County Board of Commissioners


2nd Floor, Government Center, Room #201

1010 Franklin Ave. Brookville, IN 47012

Office Phone: (765) 647-4985


For those who are concerned about conflicts between the Second Amendment Preservation Act and the Supremacy Clause we direct your attention to the following Federal Report: “Jurisdiction Over Federal Areas Within the States”

2nd Amendment Sanctuary

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) has a public damage reporting tool open on the internet.  

Please encourage those with damages to report on this tool. In regards to public infrastructure, damages should be reported to and documented by the local emergency management office.


[tribe_mini_calendar category=”commissioners”]
Franklin County


Franklin County Government Center

1010 Franklin Ave.
Brookville, IN 47012

Offices located in the Government Center are: Assessor, Auditor, Area Planning, Commissioners, Franklin County Economic Development, Health Department, Park and Recreation, Purdue Cooperative Extension Service, Recorder, Surveyor, Treasurer, Veteran’s Services

Franklin County Courthouse

459 Main Street
Brookville, IN 47012

Offices located in the County Courthouse are: Circuit Court Judge, Clerk, Prosecutor

Franklin County Annex Building

493 Main Street
Brookville, IN 47012

Offices located in the Annex Building are: EMA, Probation, Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)

Visit franklin county today